blogmas · conversation

thankful and grateful | 25

2016 has been a trying year for almost everyone I know. Maybe it’s because we’re all getting older and dealing with adult things instead of high school or college stuff. Maybe it’s because election years are hard and the last time time we had two new (aka not an incumbent) candidates was in 2008 and I was in 10th grade and only kind of paid attention. Maybe the previous years have been good and this year didn’t shape up in comparison (but in the interest of full disclosure, I don’t really think that’s the one).

Or, maybe 2016 was an intersection of a bunch of not-so-great things. I keep thinking it’s going to get better and it keeps not getting better. Today is Christmas and truthfully, this year has been the least Christmas-y I’ve felt. I don’t know what it is, or why it happened, but I’m determined to make next year better.

Despite all of that, I’m thankful and grateful. That’s been my mom’s mantra all year – thankful and grateful – and I know I (we) have so much to be thankful and grateful for. So many things that I couldn’t even list them all here and I won’t even try.

Instead, I’ll make a little note about how I got to see one of my absolute best friends today. He came over to give me a Christmas present (a Triwizard Cup lamp. Bless that boy, he knows me so well) and so that I could give him buttons. I got to hug his neck and try not to cry and take a second to be both thankful and grateful for our friendship.

That was the real Christmas present, y’all. Being able to hug someone who means the world to me and interact in a way that wasn’t over a text message. It’s such a little thing and out of all the wonderful things in my life, that’s the one that’s making me tear up.

Merry Christmas, friends.

Leave a Reply

