conversation · dear year

dear 2017: hello

Dear 2017,

I just sent 2016 off with a letter full of pictures and memories, so it’s time to welcome you. I want you to feel comfortable here, my dear 2017, because you are so anticipated and everyone has such high hopes for you.

Don’t worry; you don’t have to be perfect. You just have to give us a chance.
I bought a new planner for you, one that I can decorate and try something new with. I intend for you to be a wonderful year, and I know it’s going to take work on my part to make that happen. This letter is a combination of things, including my goals and resolutions. It’s a way to put them in writing so I can look back throughout the year.

Now, I’m going to ask one thing. Don’t judge me. Some of these are admittedly stretch goals. I may not accomplish everything, and I think I’m okay with that, as long as I’m moving that way. I can’t see into the future, so I can’t know if something will happen that might derail me completely.
First of all, I’m going to use this blog more. I have so many ideas and things I want to try, and this is the perfect place to do it. I want to do weekly or monthly wrap ups, like vlogs but in blog format. I want to get all of my travel posts up and done properly, and I want to keep up with all of the travel I might get to do this year.

I want to start and grow Twenty-Something Entrepreneur. That’s a huge project but I really want it to happen. I want to continue publishing Sonorus episodes, and launch and maintain the Chit Chat podcast with Meagan. I want to put time and effort into my Etsy shop, and maybe start selling planner stickers.

I want to get a job, and that may manifest as more than one job over the year. I want to move out or be ready to move out at the start of 2018, depending on what the job situation is and where it calls for me to be.
If NerdCon: Stories happens again, I want to go, and if I’m somehow able to go to LeakyCon in Europe, I’d like to be able to do that, too. I don’t think FinCon or Podcast Movement are in the cards for this year, but maybe 2018 will have those goals and this year is for building things to the point where those are realistic goals in 2018.

I want to use Instagram more and Facebook less. I want to finish my NaNo novel and send it to an agent, edited and ready. I want to throw away things that I don’t need and only buy things that I need and make me happy. I want to eat healthier, drink more water, and be more active. I have specific goals for those things, but this isn’t the place for them.

I want to read more in 2017, because while I started my year strong, I fell out of the habit and haven’t picked it back up.I want 2017 to be the year I look back on, either on December 31st or in ten years, and think, wow, that was a really good year. I want it to be good personally and professionally.

And I think I can do that.

 

Leave a Reply

